License To Fit Food Find: St. Patrick’s Day Desserts

Slurp

Slurpin’ and smilin’

St. Patrick’s Day is right around the corner–time to celebrate with corned beef and cabbage, Irish potato soup and a tall glass of Guinness. After inhaling all that yummy goodness, you should have some dessert waiting in the wings, right?. Well, fellas and dolls, if you aren’t too wobbly from the day o’ drinking green beer, here are a couple of “green” sweet treats I came across that you, too, may want to take for a test run.

Finger-Lickin’ Good Brownies

Image

License To Fit tested, leprechaun approved

These Healthy Zucchini Brownies were delicious, and luckily I had a few people to share them with (otherwise I would have licked this flimsy pan clean!). Note: Though the recipe says to bake brownies for 35-45 minutes, I had to bake mine for almost an hour before my chopstick (gettin’ creative when I’m down a toothpick or two) came out fairly clean. I’m going out on a limb to say that these aren’t a low-calorie, low-fat alternative to regular brownies, but they definitely pack more nutrients because of the zucchini and almond butter used in the recipe. Enjoy!

Fakin’ a Shamrock Shake

FakeShake (18)

Warmer weather is upon us–the perfect time to shake things up in the kitchen!

I know, it only comes once a year, those amazing McDonald’s Shamrock Shakes! But if you have a craving that just won’t go away and there is no Shamrock Shake to be found, give this healthier version a try. I was a little hesitant with this one (Avocado? Really?) but I have to say, I’m a believer in this sham of a Shamrock Shake. Note: Instead of coconut milk, I used almond milk. I also made mine with a little less ice and almond milk than what the recipe calls for so that it had just the right amount of thickness. Those years of blending away at Jamba Juice have really paid off!

Do you have any fun, vegetable-infused dessert recipes that you’d like to share? Send ’em my way if you do! Whether you whip up these delightful treats or not, I wish you a lucky and green-filled St. Patrick’s Day. πŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to License To Fit Food Find: St. Patrick’s Day Desserts

  1. iamnotaziz says:

    Wonderful post. Very informative. I think April’s post should be themed after Tax Day. A healthy Deduction Doughnut maybe?

  2. Tim says:

    I’m so full, great SPD! Thanks for the tips and looking foreward to Keylime Pie..Or however you spell that!

Leave a Reply

